14th Annual CAPE New Writers Fellowship – Guidelines and Submissions – Sponsored by NBC Universal and Warner Bros.


Sponsored by:





14th Annual CAPE New Writers Fellowship is now officially open for submissions!

Attention writers! Do you have material, but need some guidance on how to successfully pitch your project? CAPE New Writers Fellowship is the perfect program for you.

  • 2 submission categories: Film and Television*
  • Up to 10 fellows will be selected
  • Fellows will receive:
    • $1,000 stipend per Writer or Writing Team
    • Intensive 11-session curriculum with industry professionals in Los Angeles from March to April (all finalists must attend all classes and lab sessions)
    • Exclusive opportunities to meet with successful entertainment agents, managers, producers, and executives

Submit your materials today! You can submit more than one script (each script requires a set of submission materials and fee).

CAPE Members register here

Non-Members register here

DEADLINE: January 31, 2014 at 11:59PST
There will be no extensions to the submission period.

Submission is not a guarantee of entry.

Submission Materials
2014 CNWF Application
2014 CNWF General Release
2014 CNWF Rules Feature
2014 CNWF Rules TV
2014 CNWF Short Essay

Stay tuned on our Facebook and Twitter for instant #CNWF updates!

We've aligned the 2014 Fellowship to end right before the NBC Universal’s Writers on the Verge Program begins its application season.  CNWF Finalists will get a head start and expert preparation to put them in the best possible position to apply for NBC and other network writing programs.

Hear some of the 2013 CAPE New Writers Fellows share their experiences.

For over a decade, the CAPE New Writers program has been dedicated to discovering and nurturing Asian American and Pacific Islander voices and talents. This unique program has helped launch the careers of numerous writers. Success stories include Aaron Ho (COUGAR TOWN, AUSTIN & ALLY), Alice Wu (SAVING FACE), Ken Cheng (WILFRED, BETAS), Leonard Chang (AWAKE), Thomas Wong (FOX Writer’s Intensive Winner) and more.

*CNWF is accepting only original spec pilot (TV) and film scripts. Spec episodes of existing pilots will not be accepted as your submission.