THE LANGUAGE ARCHIVE is currently playing at East West Players at the David Henry Hwang Theater until this Sunday, December 4th, 2011.

The comedy is about George, a linguist, a master of languages, who cannot express his love for his wife–and ends up losing her. Follow this whimsical and heartbreaking look at love and language that asks, “How do we save what is dying?” The cast features Jennifer Chang, Kimiko Gelman, Nelson Mashita, Jeanne Sakata, and Ryun Yu.

Generous support for this production is provided by the S. Mark Taper Foundation Endowment for East West Players. In association with Kaya Press and Libros Schmibros Lending Library & Bookshop.

For more information about show times, please click here.
Tickets can be reserved online.

Fred Rogers Memorial Scholarship Now Open

The Fred Rogers Memorial Scholarship is now accepting submissions from college and graduate students nationwide!

The Fred Rogers Memorial Scholarship recognizes students making strides in the field of children’s media, furthering the legacy of the late Fred Rogers to use television as a positive and enriching force in child education and entertainment. Recipients are selected by demonstrating commitment to early childhood education, child development and psychology through media. The awards come in the form of four $10,000 endowments—three underwritten by Ernst & Young LLP, and one sponsored by the Pittsburgh-based Grable Foundation. The Fred Rogers Memorial Scholarship recipients will also be assigned mentors from the Television Academy’s Children’s Programming Group.

Applications for all four scholarships will be available online at emmysfoundation.org/fred-rogers-memorial-scholarship.
The deadline is February 29, 2012.

33rd College Television Awards Submissions Open

Entries for the 33rd College Television Awards competition is now open!

The College Television Awards is a nationwide student competition that recognizes excellence in video, digital and film production across 12 categories: Alternative, Animation, Children’s, Comedy, Commercials, Documentary, Drama, Magazine, Music Competition and Music Best Use, Newscasts and Series. During the four decades of this awards program, many of its winners have gone on to achieve illustrious success in the entertainment industry, some winning Oscars and Primetime Emmy®Awards.  The most recent example of this is last year’s “Best Director” winner, Julian Higgins, who will direct an upcoming episode of FOX’s HOUSE after spending a summer shadowing the drama’s high-profile executive producer and Emmy® Award-winning director, Greg Yaitanes.

Submissions are being accepted for all categories at emmysfoundationcta.org.
The deadline for all submissions is Janurary 11, 2012 at 6:00PM PST.

College Television Award winners in each category will receive a cash award, and selected winners will be invited to pitch their ideas to agents. Returning for their second and third years respectively, are the Focus on Diversity and Gender Equality in Children’s Media Award ($5,000) sponsored by the Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media, and the Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship ($10,000). The latter will be presented to a student producer who best represents people with disabilities within their piece.

VC’s Meet the Filmmakers Brunch and Screening

Join Visual Communications (VC) for a special brunch and screening honoring VC’s founding members Duane Kubo, Robert Nakamura, Alan Ohashi, and Eddie Wong.

The brunch and screening will be held on Sunday, December 4th, 2011 at Chop Suey Cafe (347 East 1st Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012) and is presented by VC, Los Angeles Filmforum, and the Downtown Independent.

For more information and event registration, please visit www.vconline.org.

CBS Daytime Writers Initiative Applications Open

CBS Entertainment is launching a new Daytime Writers Initiative, which will provide qualified diverse writers with mentorship, career development and access to daytime decision makers including network, studio and production company executives as well as the executives producers, head writers and writing staffs of CBS’ Daytime dramas, THE YOUNG AND THE RESTLESS and THE BOLD AND BEAUTIFUL. The Daytime Writers Initiative is not employment and there is no monetary compensation. The goal is to provide an immersive, educational experience of the writing process of daytime dramas and to foster relationships within the CBS daytime family.

Applications are now being accepted.
The deadline for submissions is January 15, 2012.

Additional information and application materials can be accessed at: www.cbsdiversity.com, click on Diversity Institute and then Daytime Writers Initiative.

2012 Film Independent Spirit Awards

Cast your vote to determine the winners of the 2012 Film Independent Spirit Awards.

Filmmakers, film lovers and industry professionals who join the Film Independent community by December 6, 2011 are eligible to participate in the voting process for the 2012 Spirit Awards and will be entered for the chance to win two tickets to the awards ceremony.  Contact Film Independent at 310-432-1264 or visit their website at http://my.filmindependent.org.

America’s Got Talent Audition

AMERICA’S GOT TALENT is having open auditions in Anaheim on Saturday December 10th and Sunday December 11th from 8AM to 7PM.

Auditions will be held at the Anaheim Convention Center located at 800 W. Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802.

For more information or to register, please visit americasgottalentauditions.com/.

CAPE 20th Anniversary Gala Hosts Featured in MSN

Congratulations to CAPE 20th Anniversary Gala hosts Alec Mapa and Amy Hill for being featured in MSN’s TV News! CAPE would like to give a very warm thank you to both Alec and Amy for helping us start off the next 20 years with a night to remember!

To read the full article on MSN, click here.

For official event photos and videos, please connect with us via Twitter @CAPEusa or Facebook at fb.com/CAPEusa.

CAPE 20th Anniversary Gala

The glamorous CAPE 20th Anniversary Gala was held on Saturday, November 12th, 2011 at Union Station in Downtown Los Angeles.

The evening was a beautiful celebration of CAPE’s achievements over the last 20 years and Hollywood’s most groundbreaking talents and artists of today.

CAPE President Steve Tao, Justin Long, Maggie Q, and CAPE Executive Director Jennifer Sanderson

Congratulations again to this year’s honorees, which included Maggie Q, Jusak Yang Bernhard, Leo Chu and Eric S. Garcia, the producers and cast of HAWAII FIVE-0, and Ryan Higa.

The black-tie affair was filled with stunning red carpet celebrities, intimate networking, luxurious silent auction items, a delectable dinner catered by the An Family of Crustacean, breath-taking performances by The LXD and YTF, as well as captivating speeches by all the honorees.

CAPE Co-Vice President Sheri Bryant (far left) and CAPE Founder and Co-Chairperson Wenda Fond (center) with YTF

For more official pictures and videos, be sure to connect with us via Twitter @CAPEusa and Facebook.com/CAPEusa!

THANK YOU for your continued support, especially the following sponsors:

CAPE Discount to Victor King’s EP Release Party

CAPE members receive a special discount to the launch of Victor King’s debut EP release party on Wednesday, November 16th at The Factory (652 N La Peer Drive, West Hollywood, CA).

Victor King is the metonym of Victor Kim, who is known as one of the extraordinary members of America’s Best Dance Crew (Season 3) champions Quest Crew. Victor is a multi-talented triple threat artist in dance, art, and music.

Don’t miss this special album release party with an exclusive performance by YTF.

CAPE members can purchase tickets online and at-the-door for $15.

For more information about the event, please visit http://bit.ly/VictorKingEP.