The 12th Annual CAPE New Writers Awards

The 12th Annual CAPE New Writers Awards was held Thursday, September 27. Hundreds of CAPE members, supporters and friends attended the celebratory event in honor of the 2012 winners. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the awards presentation, readings, socializing and delicious array of food by Citron Catering.

Congratulations to Television Category winner Franklin Jin Rho (REVELATION), Feature Category Winners Ambarish Manepalli & Christopher T. VanDijk (COWBOYS VERSUS INDIANS), and new Hawaii Category winner Cara Fasone (HANABADA DAYS). The winners each received $4,000 and for the first time in CAPE New Writers Awards history, first runner up was awarded $500 and second runner up $250. All finalists also received copies of the latest Final Draft professional scriptwriting software.

Following the awards was the entertaining staged readings of the 2011 winning scripts SLEEPERS by Fredrick Kim and ANGRY ANYMORE by Robin Weckerly, directed by entertainment industry veteran Chil Kong.

Special thank you to our sponsors NBC Universal, the Hollywood Foreign Press Association, Hawaii International Film Festival, Honolulu Film Office, Oahu Film Office and Final Draft for making this event possible. We would also like to thank the Japanese American National Museum (JANM) for generously hosting our event.

2012 CNWA Finalists, Sponsors and CAPE Board Members

2012 CNWA Television Category Winner Franklin Jin Rho

2012 CNWA Feature Category Winners Ambarish Manepalli & Christopher T. VanDijk

2012 CNWA Hawaii Category Winner Cara Fasone

Thank you to your 2012 CNWA Staged Readings Cast (L-R) David McInnis, Erin Quill, Philip Anthony-Rodriguez, Elizabeth Pan, Nicole Paone, Caroline Pho, Rizwan Manji and Hymnson Chan

Congratulations to all the 2012 CNWA Finalists:

Winner: REVELATION by Franklin Jin Rho
1st Runner-up: MCALLEN PD by Dennis Luu
2nd Runner-up: HAPPY ENDINGS: MY FAIR GAYDY by Angel Cielo
Winner: COWBOYS VERSUS INDIANS by Ambarish Manepalli & Christopher T. VanDijk
1st Runner-up: UNCLAIMED BAGGAGE by Djoua Laurentiu
2nd Runner-up: SIX DAYS by Brian Kamei
Winner: HANABADA DAYS by Cara Fasone
1st Runner-up: DIAMOND HEAD by Feodor Chin & Jolene Kim
2nd Runner-up: COMMUNITY: CROWDSURFING 101 by Davis Kop